Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Data collection recommendations

Data collection recommendations 1 week 1 day ago #11613

• TNPower
Hello All

I'm starting a research project which aims to map the fish habitat along an estuary. The reach to be mapped is 11 km in length and stream width varies between 100-150 m. Depth will range from 2-10 m.

I'm new to producing maps from sidescan sonar data and I'm looking for recommendations on the best settings to capture the log files. The unit I will be using is a Humminbird Helix 10 G3. From the other topics in the forum this is what I've gathered:

• Log all sonar channels - I think this is default on the unit?
  • Set ping rate to highest possible - to maximise resolution
  • Run at 3-5 km/h - to maximise resolution

I figure if I set the side imaging extent to 30 m I'll be able to capture the entire bottom in 3 passes. I won't know what the water clarity is like until I get to the site, but this time of year visibility should be 2-3 m.

Questions:

• What size memory card(s) is required?
  • Should each pass be recorded as a separate log?
  • Should the side imaging extent be reduced if visibility is low?
  • Will more passes be required in deeper sections?

The site is over 1000 km away and we're only going there once, so I desperately don't want to get the data capture wrong.

The field trip is not for a couple of weeks so I'll have a bit of time to do some trial runs in the local estuary.

Any advice that will expedite my learning will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Trent.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Data collection recommendations 1 week 12 hours ago #11616

• Matt
Your approach will to some extent depend on what the target of your research is, but I will assume that you are hoping the create the highest resolution sidescan images possible.